11 Types of DUEL and their Characteristics

  • Jul 26, 2021
click fraud protection
Types of grief and their characteristics

Grief is considered as those psychological and social processes that individuals carry out after a loss. Depending on how the loss was, depending on the relationship of the debtor with the deceased and according to the strategies and coping skills that the person has, the grief will have some characteristics or others. Although each duel is different, we can find similar characteristics in duels with similar circumstances. In Psychology-Online we offer you a list of the different types of existing duelsas well as its explanation.

You may also like: The loneliness that hurts


  1. What are the different types of grief
  2. Anticipated grief
  3. Chronic grief
  4. Absent or delayed grief
  5. Frozen or inhibited grief
  6. Unauthorized duel
  7. Distorted grief
  8. Ambiguous grief
  9. Exaggerated or euphoric grief
  10. Masked duel
  11. Grief in boys and girls
  12. Psychiatric grief

What are the different types of grief.

In the first instance, we will see the definition of duel according to the Royal Spanish Academy.

What is grief

As we find in the RAE, this term can have different meanings:

  1. Pain, pity, grief or feeling.
  2. Demonstrations that are made to express the feeling that one has for the death of someone.
  3. Gathering of relatives, friends, or guests attending the mortuary, driving the corpse to the cemetery, or funerals.
  4. There is another sense of duel, at least in Spanish, which refers to defiance, combat between two, which some authors have wanted to relate it to the elaboration of the duel and the challenge that the organization of the personality of the debtor.

Next, we leave you a list with the different duels which an individual may experience and which we will define in greater detail later. However, it should be noted that any type of grief that does not follow a healthy process will be known as pathological grief since it causes the person who suffers it to develop a pathology.

List of types of duel:

  1. Anticipated
  2. Chronic
  3. Absent or delayed
  4. Frozen or inhibited
  5. Unauthorized
  6. Distorted
  7. Ambiguous
  8. Exaggerated or euphoric
  9. Masked
  10. In boys and girls
  11. Psychiatric

Anticipated grief.

The person who experiences this type of grief has begun to feel the pain of loss even when it has not happened as such. The subject is aware that he is going to live this loss in an irremediable way within a short period of time, so he begins to experience all the psychological processes in an anticipatory way. It is characteristic in subjects who have relatives with end stage disease.

Chronic grief.

Subjects carry the pain of loss for many years, causing feelings of hopelessness to settle inside her. They are characterized by being practically incapable of rebuilding their lives, but rather, they remain completely anchored in the past. His life revolves around the deceased person.

Absent or delayed grief.

The death of the person with whom I know is emotionally linked as a result of a unfounded hope of return. Subjects with this type of grief often suffer intense clinical symptoms of anxiety, since the evolution of normal grief is stopped in the first phase

Frozen or inhibited duel.

Also known by experts as postponed duel. People who have suffered a loss show no signs of pain or distress during the initial phases of grief. The person is considered to have seen their dull emotions, presenting a difficulty to express them and to react to said loss.

Unauthorized duel.

This duel is suffered by peers whose babies have died during the perinatal phase. It differs from the rest of the duels in the temporal proximity between birth and death. People who experience this type of grief are often characterized by behaviors of shock, numbness, lightheadedness and difficulties in achieving normal functioning.

Distorted grief.

It manifests itself in individuals who suffer it as a disproportionate reaction to loss Well, normally, it usually happens when the person has experienced a recent grief and, unfortunately, is facing a new grief situation.

Ambiguous grief.

Within this duel, we can find two different manifestations:

  • In the first one, the subject is aware that the person is physically absent, but not psychologically. It is characteristic in those cases in which it is not known if the person is alive or deadbut simply disappeared.
  • It is certainly the opposite. People consider individuals physically present, but psychologically absent. Considered very common in relatives of older people with dementia.

Exaggerated or euphoric grief.

This type of grief can be expressed or experienced in three different ways:

  • Characterized by a intense reaction to loss of the loved one.
  • Denying death of the person, so the individual will act as if he or she is still alive.
  • Accepting the death of the person, but with the certainty that it has been for the benefit of you.

Masked duel.

Certain symptoms develop in the person who has suffered the loss (somatizations) which produce difficulties and suffering, however, these are not associated by the person to the loss of the person with whom they had the link.

Grief in boys and girls.

This kind of duel It depends on the age of the minor, since, as a result of this, they will or will not have some understanding of the situation they are experiencing.

If they are around the two years, the infant perceives the feeling of separation from the person who has passed away, however, understands the meaning of death, since they do not have in their resources the concept of death as such.

Starting from four to six years oldThey more or less begin to develop a limited understanding of death. Many of these consider that a person who has died will be able to come back to life later. At this stage, a child who suffers a grieving process may regress in the control of some behaviors, such as toilet training.

Already between six and nine years they can understand what death is and its consequences. However, one must act with caution because, at this age, feelings of guilt can develop in the least.

here you can see symptoms and treatment of pathological grief in children.

Psychiatric grief.

This grief develops true psychiatric disorders in the subject, which can be:

  • Hysterical: the person identifies with the deceased, presenting the same symptoms that led him to death.
  • Obsessive: they end up developing a serious and prolonged depression which is based on the guilt that the person feels.
  • Maniac: alternates pictures of complete psychomotor excitement and explosive humor with depressive pictures.

In the following article you will find more information about Grief processes in the face of significant losses.

This article is merely informative, in Psychology-Online we do not have the power to make a diagnosis or recommend a treatment. We invite you to go to a psychologist to treat your particular case.

If you want to read more articles similar to Types of grief and their characteristics, we recommend that you enter our category of Personal growth and self-help.


  • Cabodevilla, I. (2007). The losses and their duels. Annals of the Navarra health system (Vol. 30, pp. 163-176). Government of Navarra. Health Department.
  • López, I. M., Arbelo, C. G., & Guisado, M. D. M. S. (2016). Grief for perinatal death, an unauthorized grief. Spanish Journal of Health Communication, 7(2), 300-309.
  • Varela López, L. L., Reyes Monroy, C. A., & García, J. (2017). Types of grief and coping strategies.
  • Vargas Solano, R. AND. (2003). Grief and loss. Legal Medicine of Costa Rica, 20(2), 47-52.
instagram viewer