The 5 love languages: characteristics and examples

  • Nov 13, 2023
click fraud protection
The 5 love languages: characteristics and examples

In 1992, marriage counselor Gary Chapman published his book "The five love languages» to explain that each person expresses and feels love in a different way, and the power that this language has in relationships. According to Chapman, there are five love languages: acts of service, words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, and physical contact. These should not only be present in relationships, but also in friendships, in the family or when you want to exercise leadership.

If you are interested in this exciting topic, in this Psychology-Online article, we explain the 5 love languages: characteristics and examples, so you can show your feelings in an assertive way and reach the hearts of your loved ones.

You may also like: Liquid love: what it is, characteristics and examples


  1. What are love languages?
  2. words of affirmation
  3. Quality time
  4. Acts of service
  5. Physical contact
  6. Gift reception

What are love languages?

«The five love languages» are based on the theory proposed by Doctor Ph. D Gary Chapman, which establishes that

Every person has a different way of showing their love., as well as different preferences to receive the affection that is most pleasant. It highlights that individuals have different ways of expressing and receiving love.

Chapman identifies 5 main languages ​​that people use to communicate and receive love within relationships. These 5 love languages are:

  • words of affirmation
  • Receive gifts
  • Quality time
  • Acts of service
  • Physical contact

Each of them is essential to improve couple or interpersonal relationships, because they allow strengthen sentimental ties, respecting the personal experiences and interests of each person. Yes indeed, Each person can have one or more dominant love languages, so it is essential to understand and satisfy our partner's emotional needs through these languages.

Words of affirmation.

One of the 5 love languages ​​is the use of words of affirmation to express affection, appreciation and admiration towards the couple. The words can be verbal, written, or even text messages. The only important thing is that imagination and affection must be present in this language of love. For example, you can say:

  • A simple "I love you."
  • I love your hair.
  • Today you look more beautiful than ever!
  • Thank you for being so good to me.
  • Express feelings like "Thank you for being part of my life and I want to be with you forever."

Each of these words of affirmation are ways to use this language of love. Remember that words have immense power and They are capable of leaving indelible memories. In this article, we leave you ideas of Love message for my partner.

Quality time.

One of the languages ​​of love is spending quality time with your partner to unite emotional ties. Devoting time and attention to it means being present and engaged in shared activities, meaningful conversions, and moments of intimacy. Some examples of this love language are:

  • Watch a movie together.
  • Date to walk in the park.
  • Cook together.
  • Talk about your plans and feelings.

Quality time involves commitment in "the here and now", because every time you postpone time with your partner or prioritize other things, you can cause emotional pain that is often difficult to repair. Don't forget that the quality of time is more important than the quantity.

The 5 love languages: characteristics and examples - Quality time

Acts of service.

"Acts of service" are one of the five main categories of love languages, according to the book "The Five Love Languages" by Gary Chapman. These actions can be everyday tasks or special gestures that ease the other person's workload, demonstrate commitment and show interest in the well-being of others.

When we fall into routine, people tend to let those small details go by and don't take into account the help their loved ones need. It is not about doing things out of obligation, but with own will to contribute to your partner's happiness.

Keep in mind that “actions speak louder than words.” Therefore, taking the car to the workshop, run errands for your partner or help in times of illness, are beautiful acts of service that express the language of love. Open communication and the effort to understand and meet each other's needs are key to maintaining a loving and healthy relationship.

Physical contact.

The language of love through physical contact implies that a person feels loved and valued through physical intimacy. This may include hugs, kisses, caresses, holding hands, etc. Many people enjoy physical contact to feel loved, so if there is an absence of this contact, they feel that they are little valued by their partner. These expressions of contact make them feel safe and loved, which is not replaced by gifts or other expressions.

In short, for people who value the love language of physical contact, The hugs, kisses and caresses, among others, are important sources of connection and love.

Reception of gifts.

Another of the 5 love languages ​​are gifts, a common way to express appreciationand gratitude in personal relationships. The most significant part of the gift is the intention behind it, since it indicates that you are interested in your partner's tastes and needs.

They don't have to be expensive - it's not about the monetary value of the gift, but the thoughtfulness and thought behind it. A Lovingly thought-out gift can be more meaningful than an expensive one but impersonal.

You can find out if the love language of gifts is important to your partner or loved ones by paying attention to how they react to gifts. If they value gifts very much and feel excited when they receive something special, this is likely your dominant love language.

The 5 love languages: characteristics and examples - Receiving gifts

This article is merely informative, at Psychology-Online we do not have the power to make a diagnosis or recommend a treatment. We invite you to go to a psychologist to treat your particular case.

If you want to read more articles similar to The 5 love languages: characteristics and examples, we recommend that you enter our category of Feelings.


  • Chapman, G. (1996). Five Love Languages. Spanish House Inc.
  • Scott, E. (2021). Can the Five Love Languages ​​Help Your Relationship? Verywell Mind. Available at: URL:
instagram viewer